Recorder - Land Records
The Recorder of Deeds Office always advises to contact an attorney to prepare the proper legal document(s).
Predictable Fee Schedule (as of 7/1/2023)
**Present and Accept only ORIGINALS OR CERTIFIED COPIES for recording, accompanied with a S.A.S.E (self-addressed-stamped-envelope)**
State Tax Liens - $ 11.00 (additional names $1 each)
Federal Tax Liens - $21.00 (additional names $1 each)
Uniform Commercial Code - $ 55.00
- Please provide PIN/Parcel number(s) & complete legal description(s)
STANDARD DOCUMENTS - $ 68.00
- Meets Illinois Document Standardization Act (see below 1-5)
- Tax Parcel Identification Numbers (PIN) must be on all real-estate related documents.
- Examples of some specific documents are: (non-inclusive list)
- Deeds with 5 or less parcels
- Mortgages with 5 or less parcels
- Releases with 5 or less parcels or referenced documents
- Monument Records
- Cemetery Deeds
NONSTANDARD DOCUMENTS - $89.00
- Documents referencing 6 or more Tax Parcel Identification Numbers -$ 89.00
- Documents referencing 6 or more recorded document numbers -$ 89.00
- Documents not conforming as in paragraphs 1 through 5 below - $ 89.00 (see below)
Plats of Subdivision/Condo - $ 108.00
- (Max 30x36, Submit original with 5 signed copies)
Illinois Document Standardization Act (55 ILCS 5/3-5018)
- The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11 inches by 18 inches shall be recorded without an additional fee.
- The document shall be legibly printed in black ink, by hand, typed or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly.
- The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on the top, the bottom and each side. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form number, page numbers and customer notations.
- The first page of the document shall contain a blank space, measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches, from the upper right hand corner.
- The document shall not have an attachment stapled or otherwise affixed to any page. Pages may be stapled together.
NOTARY (5 ILCS 312/ IL Notary Public Act)
- Traditional in-person notarizations
- Remote notarizations
- signer and the notary public must be located in Illinois at the time of the signing
- notarial certificate signed by the notary must specify the notarial act took place using communication technology
- Electronic notarizations
- only the notary public must be in Illinois at the time of the electronic notarization
- notarial certificate must specify the notarial act took place using an electronic notary platform
VETERANS DISCHARGE (includes 1 certified copy) - NO CHARGE *Each additional certified copy of recorded Discharge - $ 1.25
- Recording your DD-214 helps secure your discharge papers.
- Convenient to obtain certified copies later.
- must have ID & be authorized to obtain a copy (call the office for further info)
- Certified copies are as good as an original.
- The National Archives Link is provided for those who are trying to find a DD-214 and may be having difficulty: Request Military Service Records (This is not associated with Whiteside County).
Description Of Service
A brief list of services and documents available in the Recorder’s Office include:
- Record prepared legal documents according to State of Illinois Compiled Statutes
- Property ownership (1836 to current)
- Tract Index
- legal descriptions that contain a beginning and ending point
- Monument Records
- Service Discharges (DD214's)
- Uniform Commercial Code filings
- Subdivisions and Covenants/Restrictions